The Cricket World Cup 2015 | The Perfect Man | The Perfect Man

The Cricket World Cup 2015

Eoin Morgan.
Eoin Morgan.

The Cricket World Cup 2015 kicks off on the 14th February, it’s here, and this is everything you need to know. The Opening Ceremony was fantastic, including a very Daft Punk-esque giant puppet batsman who replicated one of the most memorable shots from last year’s competition, definitely worth having a look at on YouTube.

Australia and New Zealand are hosting. These nations boast some of the best cricket grounds in the world and lots of acronyms. The swashbuckling style of twenty over cricket has impacted on the longer forms of the game over the past four years – so I would expect bigger scores, more sixes and generally more excitement.

So, England, what are our chances? Realistically, probably not great. I don’t expect cricket to be coming home. Sorry guys.

England have really struggled with the fifty-over game for the past year or so. They have however got a lot better since journeying over the Indian ocean for the Tri series, losing to Australia in the final.

England seem to have a dark horse quality about them. They have a new captain in Eoin Morgan, who’ll be leading some very exciting players. James Anderson, one of the best test bowlers England have ever seen looks to be on form, and Moeen Ali, the beard to be feared, will be throwing his bat at everything at the top of the order and hoping to fox batsmen with his ever improving off spin.

Behind the stumps is wicketkeeper and batsman Jos Buttler, one of the most inspiring young players in the shortened forms of the game. We also have battle-hardened bowlers in Steven Finn and Stuart Broad. I think a place in the quarter-final is within their reach.

I expect it to be a great competition however England do, and well worth a watch when you get a chance. The best players in the game coming together with big crowds, bigger hits and probably a few weird dancers along the way.

The main thing I expect from the Cricket World Cup though, is an Australia win.

by Ben Dodds (follow on Twitter @brhdodds)